Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation

tarte foundation

Hello again beauty lovers! Today, I am going to be reviewing the Tarte Cosmetics Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation (boy, was that a mouthful!). I have been using this foundation for a while now so I have some pretty strong thoughts and opinions on it!

QUICK FACTS

Price: This foundation costs $39. Before I purchased it, I got a free sample from Sephora to test the color and formula to make sure I liked it before I spent the money.

Cruelty Free/Vegan: This foundation is listed on a category on Tarte’s website called “vegan friendly.” I assume that means that not all of their products are vegan. As for cruelty free, Tarte is a cruelty free brand that does not test on animals.

“Good for you” ingredients: This foundation’s claim to fame is that it is formulated with Amazonian clay (as are most of Tarte’s face products). So what does that mean? Tarte explains that this clay is a, “multitasking and total skin balancing clay has been known to remove surface oil and mattify skin, nourish all skin types and give skin an overall smooth and even appearance.” This foundation also has SPF 15 which is not a lot, but still better that is has some SPF than none.

Packaging: I love when foundations are packaged in tubes! So much more sanitary and easy than glass bottles or jars! Also, because this foundation has a thick, moussey consistency, it is perfect. The little leaf on the front of the bottle is see through so you can get a good sense of the true color. The bamboo-like cap is also really fun!

About the brand: Tarte “high performance naturals” is a cosmetics company that places a strong emphasis on natural and skin friendly ingredients, eco friendly products, and giving back. They make some fun products but most of their product line up is pretty basic and neutral. In recent years, they have been trying to expand their brand to reach further by making different lines like their Rainforest of The Sea, Athleisure, and Tareiest collections that are more trendy than classic. Also, they are trying to reach a younger audience by collaborating with YouTubers like Grav3yardgirl.

SWATCHES/SHADE RANGE

light beige

This foundation has an amazing shade range. Not only do they cover fair to dark skin tones, all of the foundations have particular undertone, whether it be cool, warm, or neutral. Once you have a foundations that matches the undertone of your skin well, you will never go back! It makes the foundation match that much better and look more flawless with the rest of your skin. I wear the shade Light Beige.

WEAR TEST

For this wear test, I applied the Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Face Primer and set the look with Urban Decay De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray. I use these two products everyday, so by using them in this review, I can get a better feel for how this foundation compares to other foundations I have tried.

foundation

11am: So I got a late start this day, but hey, it was Saturday! The funny thing about this foundation is that, from past experience, it looks better as the day goes on! I think that when I first put it on, it looks a little heavy. But, as the day goes on and I start to get oily, the foundation really manages it well and gives the skin a really great look.

makeup test

2pm: I have just been doing some homework. I stepped out to get a coffee but nothing to challenge the foundation test too much.

tarte amazonian clay foundation

5pm: Since the last check in, I went out to the grocery store and cleaned the entire house top to bottom! Defiantly put in some wear from my last check in. I was sweating some from running around. Also, I have had to blow my nose a few times so there is some wear around the nose. Other than that, you can see what I mean that I like this foundation as the day goes on. It really handles skin that gets oily very well.

foundation review

9:30pm: Fun Saturday night! I went out shopping, tried on clothes, and ate dinner with my best friend. The foundation is still holding up well!

tarte foundation wear test

11:30pm: Since I got home from dinner, I just hung out and watched Stranger Things on Netflix (so good!) for 2 hours. Its the end of the night so I’m pretty tired, but like I said in my last check in, the foundation is still looking good. When watching the show, I was resting on a pillow and rubbing my face a little. While the foundation is not as perfect as it was in the morning, it wears really well and as the day goes on, it fades evenly even though not much even transfers off.

APPLICATION METHOD

I apply this foundation with a Beauty Blender. Because this foundation has such a thick and mousse-y texture, I feel that the Beauty Blender really makes it go on more natural and not so cakey. I have tried using it with a brush, but that is too much full coverage for me. The Beauty Blender also sheers it out a little, which is good for such a full coverage foundation.

To wrap it up, I really like this foundation for 1.when I want full coverage and 2.when I know I am going to be sweating and need a long lasting foundation. I do not tend to wear this for everyday wear, but if I do wear it a few days in a row, my skin never breaks out, it actually ends up looking better than if I had not worn it!

I want to know YOUR thoughts! Do you like this foundation? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

